2012 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 19 | Wheel Poem | WritersDigest.com

Today the prompt on the Poem a Day (PAD) Challenge is a wheel poem. It can be any kind of wheel.

Read the contributions of other writers on the site and add your own. Here’s the link:

2012 November PAD Chapbook Challenge: Day 19 | Wheel Poem | WritersDigest.com.

Here’s mine:

Wheels

 

My first wheels

were skates:

I rumbled

down the sidewalk

across calculated

cracks in concrete,

clicking out

a rhythm for

ball-bearings.

Rolling along alone

under the

summer sun,

Clackity clack

was the sound

of freedom.

 

My second wheels,

in a different

place, were

on the used bike

my father bought,

but I was afraid

to ride for a long

time, though I

longed to, not

trusting that

seemingly impossible

balance, until

someone let go

and I wobbled off,

until that wobble

turned to a whir.

Whir, whir

was the sound

of freedom.

 

After college

came my

first car,

a used Dodge

that randomly

died, but

took me

farther and faster

than I could

have dreamed.

Vroom, vroom!

That was the

sound of freedom.

 

When a Sumerian

first put

a log under

a load

to roll,

could he

imagine

skates,

bikes,

cars,

or a distant

time

of freedom?

Leave a Reply

