In the Company of ________: The Poem

Every Wednesday throughout the year, Robert Lee Brewer offers a fresh poetry prompt on his blog Poetic Asides. This week is his two hundredth!

He challenges his readers to write a poem titled “In the Company of __________.” Fill in the blank with whatever comes to mind. Click on the link to read the responses.

Wednesday Poetry Prompts: 200 | In the Company of Blank Poems | WritersDigest.com.

Here’s mine:

In the Company of Artists

when I was a child

I sat in the corner

and listened as my

parents laughed

and talked with their

friends in our tiny

walk-up apartment.

Once, at Christmas,

someone brought

my father a rainbow

box of colors and I

thought how wonderful

to play a whole

life long.

When I was a child

I stood low

and watched

as men in suits

and women in

best dresses

spoke softly,

admiring paintings

on the walls

of one or another

gallery and I thought

how wonderful

to share a whole

life long.

When I was a child

I sat very still

in the back

of my father’s

friend’s car

and watched

them paint the

afternoon, she

in the front seat,

he by the road

and I thought

how wonderful

to keep a whole

life long.

Leave a Reply

