Write an If I Were… Poem

Wednesday Poetry Prompts: 205 | If I Were Happy Poem | Poems | WritersDigest.com.

It’s Wednesday on Robert Brewer’s blog. Today, fill in the blank in this phrase and make it your title: If I were…

Read the responses and add your own.

Here’s mine:

If I Were an Eagle

If I were an eagle,

I’d angle my wings

and slowly circle

over the frozen lake,

watching for an unwary

rabbit venturing out

across an unmarked

patch of snow. I’d

pass the cottonwood

aerie where I was raised

with my brother

and not wonder where

he had gone. I’d own

only the brittle winter

sky and a bare branch

with a hungry view.

Leave a Reply

